Friendzoned? Or just shy?

I’ve never understood the origin of the word ‘friendzone’. Ok, don’t get it either? Sample this poem:

I don’t friendzone people.
I relationship zone them.
You wanna be my friend?
Too bad… We’re dating.

Now that’s the weird bit. Daters aren’t friends? What are they? More than just friends? Is there anything closer than a friend? That’s always the puzzle.

According to Wikipedia, the Friend Zone is: “when one person in a platonic relationship wishes to enter into a romantic relationship while the other does not. It is generally considered to be a regrettable situation by the lovelorn person. Common publications giving advice on dating state that once this situation has happened in a relationship, it is difficult to undo.” So it’s legit after all. The term’s official.

It’s so sad when the only reason you can’t be together is because you’re super best friends. Friendzone rarely feels friendly. Irony, yes?

A friend laments that he showed up with flowers and chocolate yesterday at midnight at her quarters and he got a high-five for it. Looks like he wanted more cookies. Wasted efforts and crushed hopes. Haha. Showing a guy who wanted to be more than friends ‘Let’s just be friends’ is like going to the sty and saying to the pig, ‘‘I love you for future bacon”. I mean, slaughter the pig now and get bacon, or leave the pig alone.

funny-pictures-auto-kim-possible-friend-zoneThere’s that other angle though. Some people say they’re friendzoned when they’re just shy of taking initiative. Or, they’re just shy. You know those cowardly shysters who can’t walk up to a crush and say, “Hey crush, there’s this crush thingy that I want us to crash together. Wanna see me out?” I’m not giving you hints. Go work hard.

There’re various types of shy. At least, for me. There’s that when-someone-cute-is-looking-at-me shy, the I-sound-like-a-frog-when-I-talk shy, the you-all-suck-at-my-type-of-conversations shy, the ‘first time here’ shy and typically common is the left-in-the-same-room-with-someone-you-just-met shy and the ‘do you want something to eat no thanks am full’ shy. But there’s no shy that beats the panic attacks that creep up your spine and arrest the whole body when you meet your crush and you just don’t know what, when, where or how. Worst case scenario, this crush is your friend. Simply put, you just feel nuts about yourself and the crush continues being a crush and nothing more than that. That’s the only positive side of this type of shy; it maintains the crush.

Has your crush ever asked you, “Who’s your crush?” Now that is something developing into a friendzone. You’ve got to hurry the hell up before you find yourself right at its epicenter. Love is always a gamble, but waiting won’t change the dice, either you roll them or you lose your turn. There is one sure way to leave the friendzone… make a move! Am I right? Never give up on something you can’t stop thinking about.

To the ladies? Quit asking where all the nice guys are when you left them at the friendzone. Just like my pal here. Okay, away I go to lament with a brother. This is bro-zone for me, no harm there.

woiye

5 thoughts on “Friendzoned? Or just shy?

  1. Hi! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any trouble with hackers?

    My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I
    ended up losing several weeks of hard work due to no
    backup. Do you have any methods to protect against hackers?

    Like

  2. Can I just say what a comfort to discover an individual who actually understands what they’re talking
    about on the internet. You certainly know how to bring a
    problem to light and make it important. More people have to check this
    out and understand this side of your story.
    I was surprised you are not more popular given that you most certainly have the gift.

    Like

Leave a Reply

