Poem: Strike Back

For my own future

I can withstand this torture –

My ideas shall not be shielded

Relentless barrages of discorn; I still have yet to be yielded.

You can try to set me apart

But I know – where I set my heart

So be afraid of me

I am what you tried to cage, but I was born free;

Standing here before you is the greatest feeling

Because all your torment is diminishing –

Don’t try to push me around any longer

I don’t need anyone’s shelter;

No more hate – no more lies

I can see through these trials

So I’ll say this, you have one choice

We’re clear as I raise my voice

I control my destiny

Not some punk who thinks he’s better than me.

Image

Leave a Reply

